District Profile
Alappuzha district was formed on August 17, 1957. It was carved out of erstwhile Kottayam and Kollam districts. Latitude of the district is 9o 5' N and longitude is 76o 17 to 76o44 E'. It is the smallest district in the State with an area of 1414 sq.km.

As per 2011 Census, the population size of the district is 21,27,789, of which 10,13,142  are male and 11,14,647 are female. Density of population of the district is 1504 per sq.km. Alappuzha has achieved of 95.72 per cent literacy. Out of which female literacy is 94.24 per cent. Sex ratio of the district is 1079. The population of SC and ST in the district is 9.45 per cent and 0.15 per cent respectively.

The district is divided into two revenue divisions, Alappuzha and Chengannur.  These two divisions are further divided into 6 taluks namely, Cherthala, Ambalappuzha, Kuttanadu, Karthikappally, Chengannur and Mavelikkara. The taluks are further sub-divided into 91 villages. Alappuzha district has 91 local bodies -72 Grama Panchayats, 12 Block Panchayats, 6 Municipalities and a District Panchayat.

Alappuzha is the sandy slip of land intercepted by lagoons, rivers and canals. There are no mountains or hills in the district, but for the scattered hillocks lying between Bharanicavu and Chengannur Block Panchayats.  80 per cent of the district area lies in the low land region and midland occupies the remaining area.  Alappuzha is the only district in the State with no high land or forest land. Waterbodies are spread over 10 per cent of the geographical area of the district and Kuttanad area is located below sea level.

Brief history
Present town owes its existence to Raja Kesavadas of the 18th century. Kuttanad, the rice bowl of Kerala, was well known from early days of the Sangam Period. As per historical record, Alappuzha had trade relations with ancient Greeks and Rome in the middle ages.

Major Agricultural Crops are Rice and Coconut. Rice is cultivated in an area of 38052.47 hectares. Kuttanad is known as the ‘Rice Bowl of Kerala’.

Major industries located in the district are KSDP, HOMCO, Autocast, Spinning mill, Komalapuram.

Members of Parliament and Legislative Assembly
District comprises of 2 Lok Sabha constituencies and 9 Legislative Assembly constituencies. Adv AM Arif and Sri Kodikkunnil Suresh represent Alappuzha and Mavelikkara Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.  Public Works and Registration Minister Sri G Sudhakaran (Ambalappuzha LAC), Finance Minister Dr Thomas Issac (Alappuzha LAC), Civil Supplies Minister Sri P Thilothaman (Cherthala LAC), Leader of Opposition Sri Ramesh Chennithala (Harippad LAC), Adv Shanimol Usman MLA (Aroor LAC), Sri Rajesh MLA (Mavelikara LAC), Adv U Prathibha MLA (Kayamkulam LAC), Sri Saji Cheriyan MLA (Chengannur LAC) represent the constituencies in the district. Kuttanad LAC is vacant after the demise of Sri Thomas Chandi MLA.

Prominent educational institutions
TD Medical College, Alappuzha, Dental College, Co-operative Academy of Professional Education (CAPE), SD College and St. Joseph’s College for Women are the important educational institutions in the district.


Sri Sathyaprakash S

District Planning Officer,