District Profile

Idukki district, the second largest district in Kerala, came into existence on January 26, 1972, by carving out Devikulam, Udumbanchola and Peerumedu taluks from erstwhile Kottayam district and Thodupuzha taluk (excluding Kalloorkad Village and portion of Manjalloor Village included in Kalloorkad and Manjalloor Panchayats) of erstwhile Ernakulam district.

At the time of formation the district headquarters was at Kottayam. In 1976, it was shifted to Painavu in Thodupuzha taluk.

Idukki district lies in the Western Ghats of Kerala and has an area of 436345 sq.km. Idukki district lies in 9o 15' and 10o 2' latitude and between 76o 37' and 77o 25' longitude.


The population of Idukki district as per 2011 census is 11, 08, 974, of which 5,52,808 are male and 5,56,166 are female. The sex ratio is 1006. The density of population is 254. The total number of households is 2,79,812. Other details are shown in the Table.

Total Population Male Female Total
SC population 131573 136838 268411
ST Population 27995 27820 55815
Literates 471881 451129 923010
Literacy rate ( per cent) 95 89 92
Main workers 287566 128381 415947
Main Cultivators 69676 16047 85723
Marginal Workers 44144 56272 100416
Marginal Cultivators 7133 8061 15194
Birth rate     6.19
Death rate     5.23

Administrative units

Idukki district consists of 2 Revenue Divisions, Idukki and Devikulam. There are 5 taluks in the district:

Name of Taluk No. of Villages
Devikulam 13
Thodupuzha 17
Udumbanchola 18
Peermedu 10
Idukki 9
Total  67

Local Self Governments

District Panchayat 1
Block Panchayat 8
Municipalities 2
Grama Panchayats 52
Total 63


In Idukki district, nearly 90 per cent of the area comes under high ranges covered by mountains, hills and deep valleys. There is only a strip of middle land in the western part of the district. More than 50 per cent of the area of the district is covered by forest. There are 14 peaks in the district which exceed a height of 2000 meters above the sea level. The highest peak in south India Anaimudi which has an estimated height of 2817 meters, lies in eastern portion of Kannan Devan Hills Village.

Brief History

The district's name, 'Idukki' is supposed to be derived from the Malayalam word 'Idukku' which means a narrow gorge. Periyar which is one of the largest rivers of Kerala, flowing through Idukki gorge formed between the two high massive rocks called "Kuravan mala (839 meter height)" and "Kurathi mala (925 meter height)", is the site of the gigantic Idukki arch dam. The excavation by the State Archaeology Department in Marayoor in the Anchunad Valley of Devikulam taluk, Thengakkal near Vandiperiyar, Bison Valley and Thondermalai show distinct characteristics of pre-historic civilisation. The district had an important role in the spice trade of ancient period as spices such as pepper and cardamom grow more in abundance in this district than elsewhere in the State.


Plantation industry in the district produces 70 per cent of cardamom,70 per cent of tea, 12 per cent of coffee and 7.3 per cent of rubber in the State. The details of major crops grown in the district are:

Sl. No Type Area Area in per cent
1 Paddy 8.87 0.44
2 Sugar Crops 8.76 0.43
3 Pepper 426.94 21.06
4 Cardamom 318.1 15.69
5 Arecanut 22.44 1.11
6 Cashew 11.47 0.57
7 Jack Fruit 154.28 7.61
8 Mango 62.24 3.07
9 Banana 34.86 1.72
10 Plantain 39.03 1.93
11 Topioca 69.19 3.41
12 Tubers 15.51 0.77
13 Vegetables 64.2 3.17
14 Coconut 165.46 8.16
15 Rubber 405.8 20.2
16 Tea 219.7 10.84
  Total 2026.85  

Member of Parliament

Name Constituency
Adv Dean Kuriakose Idukki

Member of Legislative Assembly

Name Legislative Assembly
Sri MM Mani (Minister of Electricity) Udumbanchola
Sri PJ Joseph Thodupuzha
Sri S Rajendran Devikulam
Sri Roshy Augustine Idukki
Smt ES Bijimol Peermedu

Educational Institutions in the district

  • Government Medical College, Idukki
  • Al Azhar Medical College and Super Speciality Hospital, Kumaramangalam, Thodupuzha
  • College of Applied Science Kattappana
  • College of Engineering Munnar
  • Government College, Kattappana
  • Government College, Munnar
  • Government Engineering College, Idukki
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Institute of Arts and Science, Balagram, Nedumkandam
  • MES College Nedumkandam
  • Mar Basilios Christian College of Engineering and Technology, Kuttikkanam
  • Marian College, Kuttikkanam
  • NSS College, Rajakumari
  • Pavanathma College, Murickassery
  • St. Joseph College, Moolamattom
  • University College of Engineering, Muttom
  • Central School, Idukki
  • JawaharNavodaya School, Kulamavu


  • Government Polytechnic, Muttom
  • Government Polytechnic, Kumily
  • Government Polytechnic, Thodupuzha (Purappuzha)
  • Government Polytechnic, Nedumkandam
  • Model Government Polytechnic, Idukki

Research Centres

  • Indian Cardamom Research Institute, Myladumpara
  • Cardamom Research Institute, Pampadumpara
  • Krishi Vignan Kendram, Santhanpara

Dr Sabu Varghese

District Planning Officer