District Profile

Kottayam district was formed in July 1949. The district name literally means the interior of a fort (Kotta-Akam). The district is flanked by Western Ghats on the east and Vembanad lake and Alappuzha district on the west.

Demographic Details

Description Census 2011
Population 1979384
Male 970140
Female 1009244
Density 885 persons per sq. km

Administrative Units

Kottayam district consists of two revenue divisions, Kottayam and Pala. Kottayam, Changanacherry, Vaikom, Kanjirapally and Meenachil are the five taluks in Kottayam district. The district has 89 Local Self Government Institutions which include 71 Grama Panchayats, 11 Block Panchayats, 6 Municipalities, and a District Panchayat.


Located in the south to Central Kerala, Kottayam is bounded by Ernakulam district in the north, Idukki district in the east, on the south by Alappuzha and Pathanamthitta districts. The district has as area of 2203 sq. km. The district is overlooking Vembanad lake on the western side Kottayam lies between latitude 9°15and10°21 and longitude 76°22 and 77°25. Kanjirapally and Meenachil taluk have laterite soil and Vaikom taluk, and various parts of Changanacherry and Kottayam taluk have alluvial soil. River Meenachil Manimala and Moovattupuzha are flowing through the district.

Brief History

The district has a unique place in the history of Kerala. Kottayam is the first town in India to achieve full literacy in 1989. English education started at old seminary in 1813, the first printing press in Kerala, the CMS press was established by Rev. Benjamin Baily in1821 and the first college of Kerala – CMS college was started in 1840. The only co-operative society of literary workers for book publication – Sahitya Pravarthaka Sahakarana Sangam began in 1945 and the first printed Malayalam – English Dictionary was published in 1846. The first Keralite President of India – Sri K R Narayanan, hails from Kottayam.

Details of Members of Legislative Assembly and Members of Parliament

Sl.No. Name Constituency (MLA)
1 Sri Mani C Kappan MLA Pala
2 Adv Mons Joseph MLA Kaduthuruthy
3 Smt CK Asha MLA Vaikom
4 Sri Suresh Kurup MLA Ettumanoor
5 Sri Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan MLA Kottayam
6 Sri Oommen Chandy MLA Puthuppally
7 Sri C F Thomas MLA Changanacherry
8 Prof N Jayaraj MLA Kanjirappally
9 Sri P C George MLA Poonjar
Sl No. Name Constituency (MP)
1 Sri Thomas Chazhikadan MP Kottayam

Agricultural Details

The important agriculture produce are paddy, tapioca, rubber, coconut, pepper, plantains, pineapple, ginger, tubers, vegetables, and perennial crops like mango, jackfruit. Krishi Bhavan is functioning in all Grama Panchayats and Municipalities. The District Agricultural Farm and Regional Agricultural Training Centre, State Seed Farm (Kozha) Soil Testing Laboratory (Ettumannoor) are important institutions. Kottayam has prominent institutions like Rubber Board, Oilpalm India Ltd. (Kodimatha), and Rubber Research Institute of India.

Basic Details

Sl.No. Item Area (in hectares)
1 Total Area 219550
2 Forest 8141
3 Cultivation Area 184666
4 Cultivable Land 187712
5 Uncultivable Land 25893
6 Land for Non agriculture use 1469
7 Grassy Land 0
8 Cultivable Waste Land 4890
9 Fallow Land 5808
10 Net Area sown 164451
11 Area Sown More than once 268556.46
12 Total Cropped Area 191307

Source: District Plan

Educational Institutions

Kottayam has been emerged as an educational hub of the State. Important Educational Institutions in the district:

  • Mahatma Gandhi University (1983), P D Hills, Athirampuzha
  • Medical College (December30, 1962) – Gandhinagar
  • Indian Institute of Mass communication and Journalism (2012)-Pampady
  • Institute of Hotel Management and Catering Technology (2012)-Mutholy
  • Rajiv Gandhi Institute of technology (1991)-Pampady
  • IHRD Engineering College at Poonjar, Erattupetta
  • CAPE Engineering College – Kidangoor
  • School for Blind – Olesha
  • Deaf and Dump School – Neerpara, Thalayolaparambu
  • Polytechnic Colleges – Nattakam, Pala, Erattupetta, Thekkumthala
  • Government College – Nattakom
  • K R Narayana Institute of Visual and Arts – Mattakkara
  • School of Indian Legal Thought – Sooryakaladi Hills, S.H.Mount

Major Industrial Institutions

  • Hindustan News Print, Velloor
  • Travancore Cements, Nattakom
  • Cochin Cements, Mevelloor
  • MRF Limited, Vadavathoor, Kottayam
  • Canara Paper Mills, Vazhappally, Changanacherry

Smt. Litty Mathew

District Planning Officer