District Profile

Thiruvananthapuram, the State capital, is the southernmost district of the State of Kerala. The district was created in 1949, with its headquarters in the city of Thiruvananthapuram. The present district was created in 1956 by separating the four southernmost taluks of the erstwhile district which are now part of Kanyakumari district.

Thiruvananthapuram district is situated between the north latitudes 8o 17' and 8o 54' and east longitudes 76o 41' and 77o  17'. The district boundaries are Kollam district in the north, Tirunelveli district in the east, Kanyakumari district in the south, and Arabian Sea in the west.


According to the 2011 Census, Thiruvananthapuram has a population of 3,301,427, of which male and female are 1,581,678 and 1,719,749 respectively. The district population constitutes 9.88 per cent of the State population. Population density of the district is 1508 inhabitants per sq. km. The rate of population growth over the decade 2001-2011 was 2.07 per cent. The district has a sex ratio of 1087 females for every 1000 males and the literacy rate is 93.02 per cent.

Description Census 2011
Population Total
Persons 3,301,427
Males 1,581,678
Females 1,719,749
Density of Population 1508
Sex Ratio 1087
Adult Sex Ratio 1,087
Child Sex Ratio 964
Literacy Rate 93


The headquarters of the district administration is at Kudappanakkunnu, Thiruvananthapuram. The district administration is headed by the District Collector and he is assisted by five deputy collectors. There are two revenue divisions in the district. There are six taluks and 124 Villages. There are two Parliament Constituencies and 14 Legislative Assembly Constituencies.

Units Number
Revenue Divisions 2
Taluks 6
Villages 124
District Panchayat 1
Corporations 1
Municipalities 4
Block Panchayats 11
Grama Panchayats 73


The district stretches along the shores of Arabian Sea for a distance of 78 km.  On geographical basis, the district can be divided into three regions – highland, midland and lowland.  Thiruvananthapuram, Chirayinkeezhu and Varkala taluks lie in the midland and lowland regions. Nedumangad taluk and Kattakadataluk lie in the midland and highland regions, while Neyattinkara taluk extends to all the three regions.

Brief history

The name Thiruvananthapuram means the abode of sacred snake ‘Ananthan’. The modern era begins with Marthanda Varma, the founder of modern Travancore. The beginning of English education by opening of an English School and setting up of an observatory and charity hospital during the period of Swathi Thirunal are landmark events in the history of the district. One of the significant contributions of Sri Moolam Thirunal was the inauguration of the Legislative Council in 1888, the first Legislative Chamber in an Indian State.


The total geographical area of the district is 2,192 sq. km. More than 15 per cent of the total population of the district depends on agriculture for their livelihood. Paddy is the most important crop cultivated in the wet lands. In garden lands, coconut, rubber, banana and vegetables are the main crops. The fisheries sector has importance in the district due to the 78 km long coastal line, reservoirs and inland water bodies.

Land Utilisation (in hectares)

Forest  49,861
Land put to non-agriculture uses 29,834
Barren and uncultivable land 140
Land under miscellaneous tree crops 36
Fallow other than current fallow 331
Current fallow 3,133
Marshy land 8
Still water 4,342
Water logged area 94
Social forestry 58
Net area sown 1,30,758
Cultivable waste 186
Total geographical  area in hectares 2,18,781

Members of Parliament

Thiruvananthapuram district serves as the nodal district of four Members of Parliament - Two from LokSabha and two from Rajya Sabha. They are:

  1. Dr Shashi Tharoor MP (Lok Sabha-Thiruvananthapuram)
  2. Adv Adoor Prakash (Lok Sabha- Attingal)
  3. Sri Binoy Viswam (Rajya Sabha)
  4. Sri Suresh Gopi (Rajya Sabha - nominated) and
  5. Sri John Brittas (Rajya Sabha)

Legislative Assembly Constituencies in the District

Name of MLA Name of LAC
1 Sri V Joy Varkala
2 Smt O.S Ambika Attingal
3 Sri V Sasi Chirayinkeezhu
4 Sri G.R Anil Nedumangadu
5 Sri D K Murali Vamanapuram
6 Sri Kadakampally Surendran Kazhakoottam
7 Sri V K Prasanth Vattiyoorkavu
8 Sri Antony Raju Thiruvananthapuram
9 Sri Sivankutty Nemom
10 Sri G. Stephen Aruvikkara
11 Sri C K Hareendran Parassala
12 Sri I B Satheesh Kattakada
13 Sri M Vincent Kovalam
14 Sri K Ansalan Neyyattinkara

Education, Science and Technology

Thiruvananthapuram is an academic hub. The University of Kerala, the regional headquarters of Indira Gandhi National Open University, fifteen engineering colleges, three medical colleges, three Ayurveda colleges, two Homeopathy colleges, six other medical related colleges, and two law colleges are located in the district. Major science and technology institutions in Thiruvananthapuram are:

  • Indian Institute of Science Education and Research
  • Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC)
  • Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC)
  • Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS)
  • Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST)
  • Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology (RGCB)
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Tropical Botanical Garden and Research Institute (JNTBGRI)
  • ER and DC – Centre for Development of Advanced Computing
  • CSIR – National Institute of Interdisciplinary Science and Technology
  • Free Software Foundation of India (FSFI)
  • Regional Cancer Centre (RCC)
  • Sree Chitra Thirunal Institute of Medical Sciences and Technology (SCTIMST)
  • National Centre for Earth Science Studies (NCESS)
  • Central Tuber Crops Research Institute (CTCRI)
  • Kerala Science and Technology Museum
  • Priyadarsini Planetarium
  • Kerala Highway Research Institute

Sri Biju V.S

District Planning Officer,