District Profile

Thrissur is called the cultural capital of Kerala and is geographically located in its central part. The district was formed on July 1,1949. A brief description of the district is given below.

Basic information

Area 3032 sq.km
Population 3121200
Males 14,80,763
Females 16,40,437
Sex Ratio 1092
Literacy Rate 95.32
Density 1031

Administration (in number)

District Head Quarters Thrissur
Revenue Divisions 2
Taluks 7
Villages 255
Corporation 1
Municipalities 7
Block Panchayats 16
Grama Panchayats 86
District Panchayats 1


North Malappuram and Palakkad districts
South Ernakulam and Idukki
West Arabian Sea
East Palakkad and Western Ghats


Latitude           10.530345
Longitude          76.214729


Lok Sabha 3
Assembly 13

Details of Members of Parliament and Members of Legislative Assembly

1 LokSabha
Thrissur Sri T N Prathapan
Alathur (Part) Ms Ramya Haridas
Chalakudy (Part) Sri Benny Behanan
2 Legislative Assembly Constituency
Thrissur Sri V S Sunil kumar
Kumnnamkulam Sri A C Moidheen
Puthukkad Prof C Raveendranath
Ollur Sri K Rajan
Chalakudy Sri B D Devassy
Chelakkara Sri U R Pradeep
Guruvayur Sri K V Abdul Kadher
Wadakkanchery Sri Anil Akkara
Irinjalakuda Sri K U Arunan
Kaipamangalam Sri E T Taisaon Master
Kodungallur Sri V R Sunil kumar
Manalur Sri Murali Perunelly
Nattika Smt Geetha Gopi

Important Institutions

Kerala Sahithya Acadamy Kerala Lalitha Kala Academy
Kerala Forest Research Institute (KFRI) Kerala Institute of Local Administration (KILA)
Kerala Kala Mandalam Kerala Agriculture University
Kerala Health University Kerala Veterinary University

Business /Industry and Banking

Thrissur also hosts the centre of many banking, financial and business institutions of repute in the country. South Indian Bank, Dhanalakhmi Bank, Catholic Syrian Bank and Kerala State Financial Enterprise (KSFE) have located its Head Offices at Thrissur. ESAF small finance bank, Manappuram Finance, Kalyan Group of Institutions, Alukkas Group of Institutions, have also based its head quarters at Thrissur.

Smt N K Sri Letha

District Planning Officer,