District Profile

Kozhikode district was formed on January 1, 1957. When the states of the Indian Union were reorganised on linguistic basis on November 1, 1956, the erstwhile Malabar district was separated from Madras State (Tamil Nadu) and added to the new unilingual State of Kerala. But, Malabar district was found to be too unwieldy for administrative purposes. Consequently the State government ordered the formation of three districts with certain changes in the boundaries of some of the taluks. The Kozhikode district thus came into existence on January 1, 1957, originally consisting of five taluks, namely, Vadakara, Koyilandy, Kozhikode, Ernad and Tirur.

With the formation of Malapuram district on June 1, 1969 and Wayanad on November 1, 1980, Kozhikode district now consist of two revenue divisions, four taluks, 128 villages, twelve Block Panchayats, 7 Municipalities, 70 Grama Panchayats and Corporation.

Area 2,206sq.km
Population 30,86,293
Literacy 95.24 per cent
Between latitudes 11o08' and 11o15'north
Longitudes 75o30' and 76o08' east
Total crop area (hectare) 198389
LSGI Details
Grama Panchayat 70
Block Panchayat 12
Municipalities 7
Corporation 1
District Panchayat 1
Details of Members of Parliament
Name Lok Sabha Constituency
Sri M K Raghavan Kozhikode
Sri K Muraleedharan Vatakara
Sri Rahul Gandhi Wayanad
 Details of Members of Legislative Assembly
Name of MLA’s Name of the Legislative Assembly Constituency
  • Sri E K Vijayan
  • Sri P TA Raheem
  • Sri George M Thomas
  • Sri K Dasan
  • Sri T P Ramakrishnan
  • Sri Purushan Kadalundi
  • Sri A Pradeep Kumar
Kozhikode North
  • Sri M K Muneer
Kozhikode South
  • Sri A K Saseendran
  • Sri Karat Razack
  • Sri V K C Mammed Koya
  • Sri Parakkal Abdulla
  • Sri C K Nanu

Prominent Educational and Industrial Institutions

  • Government Medical College, Kozhikode, commonly referred to as Calicut Medical College, is a premier medical college located in the city of Kozhikode. It is affiliated to the University of Calicut and Kerala University of Health Sciences and serves 40 per cent of the population of Kerala.
  • The Indian Institute of Management, Kozhikode is an autonomous public business school located in Kozhikode. The institute, set up in 1996 by the Government of India in collaboration with the State Government of Kerala, is one of the 20 Indian Institutes of Management. The institute conducts a full range of academic activities in the field of management education covering research, teaching, and training, consulting and intellectual infrastructure development.
  • NIT Calicut : National Institute of Technology Calicut, formerly Regional Engineering College Calicut, is a public technical university and an institute of national importance governed by the NIT Act passed by the Parliament of India. The campus is situated 22 kilometres north east of Kozhikode, on the Kozhikode–Mukkam Road.
  • CWRDM is a premier Research and Development (R&D) institute in the water resource sector established as an autonomous research organisation by Government of Kerala under its Science and Technology Policy in 1978..
  • The Indian Institute of Spices Research (IISR) is an autonomous organisation engaged in agricultural research related to spices in India. The institute has its headquarters in Moozhikkal, Silver Hills, Kozhikode, Kerala and is a subsidiary of Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi. The Institute provides research facilities related to spice crops, both Institute funded and externally funded.

Smt Maya T R

District Planning Officer