District Profile

Ernakulam district was formed on April 1, 1958 by incorporating Kanayannoor, Kochi, Kunnathunadu, Aluva and Parvoor taluks. The present Ernakulam district includes Paravur, Aluva, Kochi, Kanayannoor, Muvattupuzha, Kunnathunadu, and Kothamangalam taluks.  Ernakulam is located at 9.98o N  76.28o E. 


The total population of the district is 32,82,388. Its population growth rate over the decade 2001–2011 was 5.69 per cent. The district has a population density of 1,072 inhabitants per sq. km. The sex ratio is 1027 and literacy rate is 95.89 per cent.


The headquarters of district administration is located at Kakkanad, a suburb of Kochi city. The district has 1 Municipal Corporation, 13 Municipalities, 7 taluks, 14 Block Panchayats, 82 Grama Panchayats and 124 villages.


The total geographical area of the district is 3,068 sq. km located on the western coastal plains of India. It is surrounded by Thrissur district to the north, Idukki district to the east, Alappuzha and Kottayam districts to the south and Lakshadweep sea to west.  The district has a coast line of 46 km, 12,700 hectares of the district is covered by water bodies and 8123 hectares is forest land.


The total cropped area is 2.1 lakh hectares, in which the crop coconut covers 0.59 lakh hectares, rubber – 0.57 lakh hectares, paddy – 0.25 lakh hectares, banana and other plantains – 0.11 lakh hectares, and vegetables – 0.02 hectares. The district has a unique system of paddy cultivation known as Pokkali, wherein saline resistant paddy and prawn are organically cultivated alternatively in fields having standing water. Ernakulam district is the largest producer of nutmeg and pineapple in the State. Rubber is the most cultivated plantation crop in the district. The sea along the entire coast of the district and the backwaters is abound in fish of various kinds and it offer enormous natural facilities for both marine and inland fisheries. The city also has facilities of education and research in the field of fisheries. Activities allied to agriculture such as diary, poultry, piggery and fishery also play a very important role in the economy of the district. Industry Ernakulam is the major industrial, financial and commercial hub of Kerala. The district has the following industrial facilities.

Description Number
Heavy Industries 47
Micro manufacturing units 12619
Micro service units 2640
Small manufacturing units 1630
Small services 370
Development Areas 6
Mini industrial areas 17

Members of Parliament

Sl.No Name of the Lok Sabha Segment Name of the Representative
1 Ernakulam Sri Hybi Edan
2 Chalakudy Sri Benny Behannan

Members of Legislative Assembly

Sl.No Name of the Assembly Segment Name of the Representative
1 Piravom Adv Anoop Jacob
2 Angamali Sri Roji M john
3 Aluva Sri Anwar Sadath
4 Kalamassery Sri V K Ibrahim Kunju
5 North Paravur Sri V D Satheesan
6 Vypin Sri S Sarma
7 Ernakulam Sri T J Vinod
8 Kochi Sri K J Maxi
9 Thrikkakara Adv P T Thomas
10 Thrippunithura Adv M Swaraj
11 Perumbavur Sri Eldhose Kunnappally
12 Kunnathunad Sri V P Sajeendran
13 Muvattupuzha Sri Eldho Abraham
14 Kothamangalam Sri Antony John
15 Anglo Indian Representative Sri John Fernandez

Smt. Anitha Elias

District Planning Officer,