District Profile

Pathanamthitta district was formed on November 1, 1982, by amalgamating portions of the Kollam, Alappuzha, and Idukki districts. The geographical location of the district is at 9.27o N and 76.78o E.


Total population as per 2011 census is 10,62,553.Of this 4,99,181 are male and 5,63,372 are female. Sex ratio of the district is 1132. Density of population is 452 per sq.km. The district has a total area of 2652 sq. km of which 52 per cent comes under reserve forest.


The district is divided into two revenue divisions, six revenue taluks and 70 villages. The district is also divided in to 8 Community Development Blocks, 53 Grama Panchayats and 4 Municipalities. There are 5 Assembly Constituencies and 1 Lok Sabha Constituency in the district. The Assembly Constituencies are Thiruvalla, Aranmula, Adoor, Ranni and Konni and the only Lok Sabha Constituency is Pathanamthitta.


41.17 per cent of the total cultivable area is Rubber (411.45 sq. km), 29.43 per cent is coconut (294.12 sq. km), 7.37 per cent is paddy (73.66 sq. km). Tuber, Banana, pepper, ginger, vegetables, and spices are also widely cultivated in the district.


KINFRA park in Kunnamthanam, Travancore Chemicals and Sugar, Pulikeezhu and TRACO Cable Ltd, Thiruvalla are the prominent industrial centres under public sector in the district.


There are 739 schools(261 Government,431aided and 47 un-aided), 10 Arts and Science Colleges, 8 Engineering Colleges, 4 Medical Colleges including the newly opened Konni Medical College in the Government Sector and 4 polytechnic Colleges in the district. Marthoma College, Thiruvalla, Catholicate College, Pathanamthitta and IHRD, Adoor are the prominent Educational institutions. 


Sri Sabu C Mathew

District Planning Officer